Mick Jackson

Associate Tutor - MA Creative Writing and Publishing

Mick Jackson has published four novels, two collections of stories and a novella, all with Faber and Faber. His books have been shortlisted for the Booker Prize, The Whitbread First Novel Award and The Encore Prize and have won The Royal Society of Authors’ First Novel Award and The East Anglian Book of the Year.  He is currently completing his fifth novel and books for children.


The Underground Man, novel (Picador, 1997)
Five Boys, novel (Faber and Faber, 2001)
Ten Sorry Tales, short stories (Faber and Faber, 2005)
Bears of England, novella (Faber and Faber, 2009)
The Widow’s Tale, novel (Faber and Faber, 2010)
Junior Science, e-book, short stories (Faber and Faber, 2011)
Yuki chan in Bronte Country, novel (Faber and Faber, 2016)
Ella May Does it Her Way, children’s book (Quarto, 2019)

Prizes & nominations:

  • Booker Prize, shortlisted, 1997
  • Whitbread First Novel Award, nominee, 1997
  • Royal Society of Authors’ First Novel Award, winner, 1997
  • Encore Prize, runner-up, 2002
  • East Anglian Book of the Year, winner, 2010

Help preserve our future

We are part of a registered charity and rely on the support of generous donors, members and legacies to help us deliver world-class education in conservation, design and the creative arts and maintain our award-winning gardens.

Find out how to support us