Kate Derum Award Shortlist

Margaret Jones, a recently graduated student on the Graduate Diploma in Visual Arts, has been shortlisted for the Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries (first prize of $5000), as well as the Irene Davies Emerging Artist's Award, specifically for artists in their first five years of professional practice (an award of $1000, supported by Alayne and Alan Davies).

Awarded every two years, the Australian Tapestry Workshop's Kate Derum Award has been established in honour of their former Deputy Director as a celebration of her contribution to tapestry. Derum, who passed away in 2008, is renowned as an artist, teacher, avid supporter of the Workshop and ambassador for Australian tapestry. The award is open to all professional Australian and international tapestry artists. All finalists are invited to submit a Tapestry for display in an exhibition at the Australian Tapestry Workshop between 29 August and 27 September 2013. This year's judges are Professor Kay Lawrence AM, a member of the Board of Directors of the Australian Tapestry Workshop and Jason Smith, Director of the Heide Museum of Modern Art.